Home > music, nerd > They Might Be Giants and Jonathan Coulton

They Might Be Giants and Jonathan Coulton

September 20, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

They Might Be Giants and Jonathan Coulton came to town a few days ago. I fell in love with Jonathan Coulton a few years ago when I first heard his rendition of Baby Got Back. The rest of his repertoire is one giant nerdgasm after another. It was through his website where I found out he was coming to town, and the Giants were icing on the cake.

It was a great concert, but I sure wish that Coulton’s set was longer. He couldn’t have played more than a half dozen songs before rushing off the stage to allow for another hour of setup. It would have been much better to just give him an acoustic guitar during that interim so we could get our money’s worth.

I’ve always teetered between being a big fan of TMBG and getting too annoyed with their music. I love their variety and quirkiness and the constant struggle of trying to figure out what the hell they’re singing about without going to their wiki. On the other hand, I hate to sound petty, but sometimes I just can’t get over the grating voices of the lead singers. Usually I’m fine with it, but there are some songs where the earsplitting nasality of their vocals is just too much and I have to take a break. I’ve never been a fan of Rush or the Smashing Pumpkins for the same reason, but I can dig the Giants. They’re worth the extra effort.

The crowd was definitely a new one for me. It felt like I was in a nerdy internet forum, with all the current memes being represented. At one point I realized that I’m probably just as nerdy as the rest of the bunch, because I understood and enjoyed a lot of the obscure humor. I guess I just try to hide my inner nerd. These people were flaunting it. Good for them.

Categories: music, nerd
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

