Home > eyes > PRK Day 7

PRK Day 7

November 27, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s been a week! This is a major accomplishment in the life of my new eyes. Today I got the bandage contacts out and was told my eyes were healing perfectly. Still, that doesn’t mean my vision has stabilized yet, in fact it is anything but perfect.

My vision actually worsened a little after the bandage contacts were out, and my eyes have felt rather dry and scratchy all day. I’ve heard that other people have had this experience of worsening vision without the contacts, so it seems to be a natural occurrence.

I’ve noticed that the quality of vision is best after resting my eyes for a while or using the rewetting drops, but that they degrade after some time of usage. Reading is still blurry and harder now since my left eye seems to be experiencing bouts of double vision.

I actually drove today, and went out on the road to the store. It wasn’t so much blurry as it was somehow smudgy. My adventure took place after resting my eyes for a while, and I noticed that at first driving was clear and natural, but after a while the smudges became bigger. With a sense of accomplishment, I came back home having taken one step closer to independence. It seems the only things that I’ve been looking forward to in the past weeks have been the every-four-hour marks so I can put in another round of prescribed eye drops. That has been my life for the past week.

That, and reading the entire set of audiobooks for the His Dark Materials trilogy (that’s the trilogy starting with The Golden Compass). I’m just about finished and will probably write another blog on that topic entirely. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the series. It was a great read and an excellent counterbalance to the jesus-loving Chronicle of Narnia books, for, as you may know, the core intent of the main characters in this series is to kill god. I hope I don’t spoil anything by saying that in the end, goodness prevails.

But back to the eyes. I think I might try to drive to work tomorrow if my vision isn’t too doubled or smudged. It will be a welcome task although it will probably only be for a  few hours of squinting at a computer screen.

Categories: eyes Tags: , ,
  1. Josh
    November 28, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Wow! Glad to see you’re good enough to get on the road!! Just out of curiosity.. how bad were your eyes before surgery?

  2. nogodsallowed
    November 28, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Before the surgery, my eyes were -4.50. Good enough to see only a few inches from my face before the blurriness set in.

  3. Nicole
    June 7, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    His Dark Materials was a brilliant trilogy – I truly, TRULY enjoyed the read!
    I was advised by the surgeon to go with PRK (as opposed to the usual Laser surgery)…I’m a tad worried about the recovery time but do realize it will all be worth it in the end. I enjoyed ur “journal” on the topic. Thanks and hope ur peepers are doing great these days! Nicole (Montreal, Canada)

  4. Justin
    August 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I am at week one since PRK myself. My eyes were -12 and -11.5 so unfortunately I think I have a long road ahead. I’m at work today, but really can only see (and I use that term loosely) out of my right eye.

    • jim
      December 13, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      Justin, how are you eyes now?

    • Stacey
      April 30, 2012 at 10:59 pm

      Justin, how long did it take you to recover and see? My eyes are -9.5 in both eyes so we are pretty close and I am nervous about my recovery time seeing that I have a 9 month old at home. Any response would help ease my mind! Thanks.

      • Lee-Anne
        May 29, 2012 at 11:37 am

        I was a -8.5 in both eyes and had PRK 4 weeks ago. I would say go for it get them done! Get help for the first 3 days but after that you should be fine. You can rest your eyes at nap time.
        The worst time after the first 3 days was probably the second week for a couple days when I was very blurry! I came home from work in tears (which may have been a good thing, better than drops 😉 ) upset at the hard time I was having with reading things at work and the blurriness.

      • Natalia
        November 3, 2012 at 9:46 am

        Hi Stacey, I had PRK done exactly a week ago and it went well. I was worried about being able to take care of my 11 months old. But it’s amazing how fast your body readjusts and recovers. Since this was posted back in April, I am sure you had your surgery done… How did it go? Are you happy with results?

  5. Johnson
    March 5, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I had PRK a week ago. The other patients who underwent the procedure on the same day are reporting crystal clear vision. This worried me as mine is still blurry. Your post is reassuring. Thanks. On the book note, I found the Lewis books to be much better written. As an atheist, I don’t care if they kill God or not. I think the GC trilogy got a lot of attention for what it said but it wasn’t said well. Lewis writes in an captivating and imaginative fashion, whatever beliefs he is pushing.

  6. DW
    May 9, 2010 at 8:00 am

    I’m close to four weeks now but I remember from days 3 to 6 being unable to sleep for three nights. I had just come off three days of meds (Ativan 1mg every 4hrs) after the op. When I did sleep it was fitful and I had very bad nightmares. It took a week for my head to clear and my concentration to come back. On the plus side, with the Ativan, I can’t remember the op or the first three days.

  7. Jeff
    March 21, 2011 at 11:11 am

    After reading your blog I was quite scared, but I’ve had much better results.

    I had my surgery this past Monday, at about 4:00pm (3/14/2011) and I had no pain whatsoever, only mild scratchy-ness at different parts of the day on Wednesday (3/16/2011).

    I was blurry until about 7pm Friday evening (3/18/2011), and at that point my vision my almost perfect, Saturday morning I could see clear as day, I felt like I have been upgrade to HD vision! My vision continued to be perfect throughout the weekend, and now its Monday (3/21/2011) I’m back at work, my resolution on my work PC is set back to 1280/1024, which I can see perfectly without having to lean forward at all.

    Also note, that I went with a doctor that was recommended by two others, and also charged me about 4,700 for the procedure. The laser he used was top of the line equipment which was well maintained, so maybe this had something to do with it.

    To know that my vision might even get better, is unbelievable, I’m very happy where I am right now and I cannot wait for my appointment tomorrow to see what my vision number comes back as.

    • Leslie
      April 16, 2011 at 5:00 pm

      Jeff, what was your beginning prescription and how is your vision now? I am scheduled for PRK on 4/21/11. I am very nervous about the recovery, but the Dr. says with surgery on Thursday morning, I should be back to work on Monday. That seems awfully fast to me compared to what I’ve been reading online.

      • Jeff
        April 21, 2011 at 1:43 pm

        I was near sighted. I don’t know what my vision, but my contacts were -3.25 in both eyes. What happens is the Epithelium layer is removed, and that is what causes the blurriness. It takes about 5 days for that layer to grow back, it actually grows back from left to right sides of your eyes, towards the center of your eye, and closes up like a cats eye. After 4 days my doctor told me that it was almost fully closed.

        He also said I was a “super healer” because I healed very fast.

        Don’t be nervous! This was the greatest thing I have ever done in my life!

        My vision is 20/20 right now, but supposedly after 6 months, there is a chance for it to improve further. 20/15 would be nice, but I am more than happy with 20/20.

    • Sara
      August 26, 2012 at 3:22 am

      Hi Jeff, do you mind disclosing your age? One doctor told me that if you are younger you can heal faster.. I am -2.25 (right eye) and -2.20 (left). I do a lot of computer work and need to use a computer non-stop daily at work. Do you recommend taking a full week off? Also, how long did it take until you could drive? After your procedure on Day 5 could you read street signs, computer screens, watch tv etc? Also, did you have problems at night with your vision? I have read way to many blogs and almost everyone says it took them 3-4 months to see clearly versus blurry which makes me nervous. Thank you for your feedback in advance.

  8. Vanessa
    August 19, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Thank you very much for writing this blog! It’s been a week since I’ve had my surgery (as I squint at a blurry computer screen). I started to question if what I was going through was normal or not. So I went online to search for some answers and I came across this. I seem to be healing at the same rate as you so far. But it’s very encouraging and informative to read your comments, as well as other peoples comments. I was also glad to hear that PRK, even with a longer and more frustrating recovery time, was a better choice than LASIK. Thank you again for writing this!

  9. Emily
    March 21, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Am I crazy to have PRK (only one eye) one week before going on a trip to DC with my family for spring break?! I’m starting to wonder if I made the right choice, the surgery is two days away so I can still back out but this is an enhancement surgery from my LASIK I had done 10 years ago so not anhuge amount of correction this time for my nearsightedness. It was life changing since I was almost blind, but I’m wearing glasses again and wanted to have this done in plenty of time before my trip to Europe this summer, 3 months away….I had slow recovery with LASIK so I was really hoping PRK was the answer. Thanks for an entertaining and educational blog!

    • chad
      March 21, 2012 at 9:03 am

      I can’t speak for everyone, but I know that my eyes were incredibly light sensitive for a few days afterwards. Bright lights were very painful. Going outside was not an option. Since you’re only doing one eye, you might be able to get by with a pirate eye patch.

    • chad
      March 21, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Although, now that I read your comment again, the light sensitivity should be gone before a week passes, so you’ll probably be fine except for impaired vision out of one eye. I’d still recommend a pirate eye patch though, just because it will make you look cool.

    • Helen
      May 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      I just had PRK (R eye) May 10, 2012 and my vision is better than day 2. Emily, how is your vision now since it’s been 1 month post op? I also had Lasik done in 2006. This enhancement was also a minor correction.

      • Emily
        May 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm

        I read this, trusted my gut and actually postponed my PRK until after spring break trip. Glad I did, considering all the drops we have to remember and tenderness, dryness and blurriness I’ve had post-op. I’m now at 4 weeks and still dealing with double vision in PRK eye. Dryness is causing some of the blurriness too. Nothing unusual but frustrating because I can’t use my old glasses and it’s difficult to see thru the lens of my camera, as I’m a photographer. Taking some time off obviously. Looking ahead to my 6week post-op and hoping things will improve drastically in he next few weeks! Thanks for checking in, enjoying your forum!

  10. Tony
    July 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    I had PRK done on Monday 6/25/12 on both eyes, my vision was -3.75 & -4.00 with bad astigmatisms in both eyes. My bandage contact slid over on my left eye sometime overnight Tuesday or Wednesday, I’m guessing Wednesday morning about 4:00 am since that is when I woke up from pain in my eye. By the time I was able to get in to the doctor, it had slid back to where it needed to be. My right eye was fully healed by Wednesday morning (the doctor was quite shocked at that) and I had about 4 millimeters left to go on my left eye. By day 5 both were healed and my contacts were removed but they found an eye infection in my right eye outside of the surgical area. My vision was about 20/25 then but smudgey/blurry. I went back today for my 1 week check up, 7/02/12, and my vision is a smudgey/blurry almost 20/20 but my infection hasn’t cleared up yet. Throwing out the infection, I had 2 seperate “rough” times, the first was the never ending “chlorine/smoke” feeling stinging burn in my eyes the first 3 or 4 days(which was made worse by light) and the second was when my eyes healed over and I couldn’t see anything past 10 inches from my face. I am very hopeful and can’t wait for the blurriness to go away, I know it will because there are times between blinks where everything is crystal clear.

  11. Jay
    January 8, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    I had PRK on 1/4/12. Every day since the surgery has been good. My vision was -6.00 L -7.00 R. I’ve been using artificial drops every 15min which has been tuff. I was 20/40 the day after the procedure and I’m guessing I’m around 20/25 in my left and 20/30 in my right eye today. I’m currently seeing some glare at night. So far I’m very excited about my potential to get to 20/20 or better in both eyes.

  12. Lance L
    April 11, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    This is the 8th day for me. I had PRK on 4/4/13 in the morning. My vision is slightly poorer during the last couple of days. They took my contacts out yesterday, so perhaps this is normal. I don’t recall my exact vision in each eye, but it was somewhere around -5, with an astigmatism of 1.75 or something like that. Both eyes were pretty similar. I was hoping for a little more improvement by now, but from reading this blog, the comments, and talking to my doctor, I think my experience is pretty typical. I envy those who are able to clearly read after not much more than a week. I am able to read without enlarging the font, but it is blurry and difficult and very distracting. I could drive if I needed to, but my vision is compromised enough that I wouldn’t feel comfortable in heavy traffic. Fortunately, I work remotely so my need to drive is limited. I want to say thanks to everyone who has posted about their experiences. It has helped me realize that my experience is very normal, and I shouldn’t worry about my progress through this point.

  13. mish
    April 25, 2013 at 3:53 pm

    ” I’ve been looking forward to in the past weeks have been the every-four-hour marks so I can put in another round of prescribed eye drops. That has been my life for the past week.” I know how you feel- its like eye Ecstasy!

  14. Eric E
    December 7, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    I had PRK on my left eye done on 12/04/2013. I previously had PRK done on my left eye on 02/21/2013. I was involved in a car accident 3 weeks later smashed my head hard and lost my vision in my left eye. I went to the Windsor Laser Eye Institute to see Dr Tayfour. He assured me he could fix my eye. He uses a eximer laser which is top of the line. I had no discomfort what so ever. It is day four I still have the contact on but can see with some blurriness. My eye is already better than it was, I followup everyday with Dr Tayfour’s office. I am fortunate to have had Dr Tayyfour perform the surgury as he is a world leader in eye surgury. If you are able and want world class care you should see Dr Tayfour.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

